CitySprint recognises individuals who have made a significant contribution
Monday, 14 February 2011
CitySprint has announced it's 2010 internal award winners. Each year CitySprint presents awards to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the business CitySprint, the UK's largest privately owned SameDay Distribution company, has announced it's 2010 internal award winners. Each year CitySprint presents awards to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the business and the 2010 award winners were announced at CitySprint's annual conference at the end of January.

CitySprint had six award categories and presented eight internal awards in total:

ServiceCentre of the Year - Norwich, with International and UK Overnight ServiceCentre receiving a Highly Commended award

Courier of the year - Terry Dale, Milton Keynes

Sales person of the year 2010 - Sally Golding, National Business Development Manager

Support person of the year 2010 - Paula Curry- Sales and Marketing Executive

Area Manager of the year - Martin Poole, Northern and Midlands Regional Manager

Excellence award - Liz Hedditch, Customer Support Manager, London and Lesley Wackett, Credit Manager

Two of the most prestigious awards were ServiceCentre of the Year and Courier of the Year.

The ServiceCentre of the Year award was presented to CitySprint's Norwich ServiceCentre which opened in 2008 following the acquisition of Norwich based courier firm, 24/7 Dispatch. At the time of the acquisition the former owners of 24/7 Dispatch, Jim and Rick Jackson, joined CitySprint to run the new Norwich ServiceCentre, which has gone from strength to strength since then, due to the combination of their hard work and the opportunities created by CitySprint's National network.

Chief Executive Patrick Gallagher said "I am delighted to see an acquisition we made in 2008 integrate so superbly within the business culminating in the outstanding performance we are recognising today. Our Norwich ServiceCentre has performed exceedingly well and has helped us establish ourselves in the area and further strengthen our national network."

CitySprint is committed to the continued growth of its business both organically and through carefully selected acquisitions, which enable it to continue to build its unique national network, which currently comprises 31 ServiceCentres. CitySprint is therefore continuously looking for new acquisition opportunities across the country. The Norwich ServiceCentre, a former acquisition, winning the ServiceCentre of the Year award is testament to how successful CitySprint's acquisition strategy and integration process is.

Jim Jackson, former owner of 24/7 Dispatch and current ServiceCentre Manager, collected the award of behalf of the team at the Norwich ServiceCentre. He commented "We are delighted to be crowned 'ServiceCentre of the Year' - we have worked hard as a team since the acquisition to build and establish CitySprint's Norwich ServiceCentre and receiving this award is recognition of everyone's hard work. We look forward to continuing our success."

The Courier of the Year award was presented to Terry Dale, a courier based at CitySprint's Milton Keynes ServiceCentre. Terry was nominated by Milton Keynes ServiceCentre Manager Ian Miller.

Ian explains "Since joining CitySprint in October 2008 Terry has proved to be an invaluable asset to the Milton Keynes ServiceCentre and to our customers. Terry is always professional, polite and helpful, he is well presented and his van is always clean and well maintained. Terry is held in high esteem by customers and colleagues alike and we receive numerous compliments about him. Nothing is ever too much for him and he continually goes above and beyond expectation, including even cancelling annual leave in order to assist us during busy periods. He is the benchmark for all of our other Couriers in Milton Keynes"

Chief Executive Patrick Gallagher said "We would be a poorer company in every respect if we did not recognise what I refer to as the 'shop window for our company'. As one of our couriers who deals with customers face to face on a daily basis, Terry is just that and I am delighted that his hard work has been recognised and rewarded - the 'Courier of the Year' award couldn't go to a more dedicated, professional team player. Well done, and thank you, to Terry".

Patrick added "It is important for us to recognise and reward the commitment and success which has been shown to us as a business and I would like to thank each of the award winners for their support and look forward to yet another successful year."